Scrapbooking, Sewing

Deco card

If you’ve seen one of my previous posts about the Elephant you might want to see the second part of the present πŸ™‚
Originally it was planned as a card, but then it turned out a bit big and heavy, so I have decided to put it into the frame.
Quite some time ago I have seen one inspiring video tutorial on easy quilting cards, actually the technique was targeting cards from paper. But I went for fabrics that are the same as the elephant is made from, so they are a perfect match!

elefant

Here you can see the basic steps for how to get such quilting effect also with fabrics, hope you will get a general idea πŸ™‚

So first I cut out stripes of fabrics, mine are 1 inch wide and it doesn’t really matter how long they are, just should be longer than your future card.

IMG_0718

In case of paper you would just glue this stripes one by one to the cardstock. In my case I glued the fabrics also on the paper measuring 6×6 inches (not yet card basis) using Vlieseline, hope you know what it is: kind of gluing material that you lie down between fabrics, go over with your iron and it binds them.
So I positioned stripes on the paper with a layer of this material in between and ironed it.

IMG_0719

Then I trimmed off the excess.

IMG_0720

And here comes the interesting part. You cut your stripes! But! In another direction as you can see it on the picture.

IMG_0721

And then you get such stripes.

IMG_0722

So instead of cutting out every single square and gluing it you can just position now those stripes as you like and you get a quilting effect so easily!

IMG_0724

And this is more or less ready card. I sewed every row with zic-zac stitch on my machine, just to secure fabrics edges.
Then I went ahead and decorated it. In the end I thought it looks a little boring with only blue-brown colors, so I’ve added some reddish squares here and there, I just cut them out of paper and glued right on top!

IMG_0729

And here is a better picture I made during the day light, so the colors are more realistic πŸ™‚
The frame actually is also self-made and painted with white acrylic color.

smallIMG_0796

Hope this inspires you to try out such fun technique!
Happy Monday!
-O

Standard

2 thoughts on “Deco card

Leave a Reply

